WhatsApp CEO Mark Zuckerberg revealed the platform’s privacy changes on Tuesday, promising to “keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”
WhatsApp’s new privacy features allow users to exit group chats silently, hide their online status, and prevent others from screenshotting “View Once” messages.
Leave Group Chat Quietly
Group chats are fantastic, but things and interests change over time. Users can now leave group chat quietly, and only the admins will be notified. This feature is expected to be released later this month.
Hide your Online Status
The company is also bringing in a new feature that allows you to set your online status privately. These features will enable users to decide who may see their online status. This will also be implemented this month.
View Once messages were an excellent addition to the app, allowing users to exchange photographs or video that would be removed shortly. There are still fears that other users may grab screenshots of the message, so the company opted to block screenshots for View once messages to offer an extra degree of security.
WhatsApp noted that they are also running campaigns to inform users about the new features and that they would safeguard users’ private conversations on the platform.